Embrace the balance

Recently, I’m struggling with the need to work on my passion projects, but not go so far down the rabbit hole that I forget that I need to keep the lights on. The fact is, my job allows me to do what I do outside of working hours and work on the projects that get me so excited that I would pay someone to work on them. And my job allows me to have the discipline I need to work until 2am in the morning on the side hustle when I could be using that time sleeping.

See, they go hand in hand. One, just as important as the other.

Society tells us that we should operate in extremes. You’re either pushing for a promotion at work, or you’re a bit unambitious, happy to stay where you are . You’re either wasting away in an office, or you’re out in the world, “living the dream”.

If only life was that easy.

For a lot of us, it’s the eternal balance act of keeping the creative fuel burning without sacrificing the ability to get paid. We may get to a beautiful where both these worlds meet in a wonderful, utopian version of the future. But in the meantime, we have to juggle. And what’s more, we should enjoy it.

Embrace the balance.

 

Enjoyed this? Take a look around the place. 

Leave a comment